Updating Liber Loagaeth

Just a quick note that I’m revising my online copy of Amzes Naghezes Hardeh (commonly called Liber Loagaeth); the main change is that many of the letters “A” are, due to the unique printing of the transcriber, look like an “N” (basically the A isn’t closed up top–often this is done with a horizontal line at top as an afterthought). Reading aloud from the text, it’s obvious that a letter “N” doesn’t help pronunciation, and rather that these are probably unclosed A’s.

These are, as far as I can tell, generally fixed in my handwritten copy of the book, and for whatever reason I felt less comfortable changing the text when I transcribed this into text form. But reading aloud from it, I feel more comfortable that these were indeed supposed to be the letter A, and either due to fading or just an oversight, they weren’t closed. But the smaller strokes of the beginning of the letter and the final stroke are closer stylistically to the many closed letters “A” rather than those of “N.”

This is part of the difficulty with doing this work; you confront not only your own humanity, but those of the original transcribers (likely John Dee, Edward Kelley, Arthur Dee, and perhaps one more transcriber from looking at the style of the letters–it’s clearly not written down by just one hand). It’s not easy but you simply ask for guidance from the heavens. Anyway, my apologies if you’re already working with the older copy.

I’ll update the original post with a Version 4 after this drasaya operation, as well as provide a new post with the same file.

Leave a comment